Workshops > GRF11

2011 Interdisciplinary Summer School: Granular Flows:
From Simulations to Astrophysical Applications

 June 13-17, 2011

CSIC Building (#406), Seminar Room 4122.

Quick Navigator
Organizing Committee Goals Schedule Acknowledgement
Funding Confirmed Participants Information for Participants Lectures
Contact Poster Registration Photo Gallery 


There will be a live webcast of this school. The webcast will be open to all, with no prior registration needed. The webcast will begin with the "Welcoming Remarks" at 8:45 am EDT on Monday June 13th, and continue through Friday October 17th.
Click HERE for instructions and the link to join the webcast.


Name Affiliation Email
Wolfgang Losert University of Maryland, Department of Physics, IPST and IREAP
Derek Richardson University of Maryland, Department of Astronomy
Eitan Tadmor University of Maryland, CSCAMM, Mathematics & IPST



The aim of the Interdisciplinary Summer School at the University of Maryland College Park "Granular Flows—From Simulations to Astrophysical Applications" is to bring together experts and students from both granular physics and astrophysics and focus on state-of-the-art experimental and simulation approaches for granular flows that are emerging in both physics and astrophysics. Granular flows are encountered in a wide range of astrophysical applications from asteroids to planetary rock avalanches. Our knowledge about these flows is exploding due to recent and planned robotic missions to various asteroids, comets, and other planetary bodies. The trove of data is being analyzed now, with patterns of granular arrangements and samples of granular materials returning for analysis. At the same time, significant progress has been made over the last two decades to elucidate the physics of granular flows, from the description of the jamming transition, to analysis of segregation and 3-D flows. For basic physics of granular flows, these new observations offer an unprecedented opportunity to apply the knowledge gained in the last decades on granular flows, and to expand the test of models into a regime of varying gravity, in particular the very low gravity of asteroids.

The school will include hands-on components where students will learn how to simulate granular flows and how to evaluate results from flow simulations critically. Corey O’Hern (Yale University) and Derek Richardson (UMD) will lead hands-on afternoon training sessions for students on direct numerical simulations. In addition, experts in experimental studies of dense granular flows will train students in experimental measurements of granular flow fields and forces.

Back to Top


Olivier Barnouin Space Department, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Bob Behringer Department of Physics, Duke University
Andy Cheng Space Department, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Nico Gray Department of Mathematics, University of Manchester
Christine Hrenya Chemical Engineering, University of Colorado
Lou Kondic Dept of Mathematical Sceinces, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Wolfgang Losert Department of Physics, IPST and IREAP, University of Maryland
Patrick Michel Director of Research and leader of the Planetology Group at Nice Observatory in France
Corey O’Hern Department of Physics, Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering, Yale University
Derek C .Richardson Department of Astronomy, University of Maryland


Name Affiliation
Olivier Barnouin The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Robert P. Behringer Duke University
Andy Cheng The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
Renaud Delannay Université Rennes 1
Kenneth W. Desmond Emory University
Yang Ding Georgia Institute of Technology
Arnaud Goullet New Jersey Institute of Technology
Nico M. Gray The University of Manchester
Matthew J. Harrington University of Maryland
Christine Hartzell University of Colorado at Boulder
Masatoshi Hirabayashi University of Colorado
Tess Homan University of Twente
Christine M. Hrenya University of Colorado at Boulder
Stacy A. Irwin Florida Institute of Technology
Yuliang Jin the City College of New York
Kamran Karimi Carnegie Mellon University
Jonathan Kollmer Uni Erlangen
Lou Kondic New Jersey Institute of Technology
Lenka Kovalcinova New Jersey Institute of Technology
Dinant Krijgsman Univeristy of Twente
Yoonsang Lee University of Texas at Austin
Seung Jae Lee University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Wolfgang Losert University of Maryland
Antoine Lucas California Institute of Technology
Mitch Mailman University of Maryland
Martin C. Marinack Carnegie Mellon University
Patrick Michel Nice Observatory in France
Naor Movshovitz University of California, Santa Cruz
Naomi A. Murdoch CĂ´te d'Azur Observatory and The Open University
Corey S. O'Hern Yale University
Derek Richardson University of Maryland
Rajarshi Roy University of Maryland
Diego P. Sanchez University of Colorado at Boulder
Carl Schreck Yale University
Stephen R. Schwartz Nice Observatory in France
Laura M. Seward University of Central Florida
Steven Slotterback University of Maryland
Eitan Tadmor University of Maryland
Nathalie M. Vriend University of Cambridge
James Wallace University of Maryland
Kevin J. Walsh Southwest Research Institute
Vikrant Yadav Clark University
Kazem Yazdchi University of Twente

Back to Top


A limited amount of travel and local lodging is available for researchers in the early stages of their career who want to attend the full program, especially for graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

Back to Top


CSCAMM Visitor Guide:


Center for Scientific Computation And Mathematical Modeling (CSCAMM)
Computer Science Instructional Center (Building #406)
University of Maryland, College Park
College Park, MD 20742-3289


Web: /programs/grf11


Poster is available here.


Photos from the workshop are available here.


Partial funding is provided by the Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics, the Institute for Physical Science & Technology (IPST) and the Center for Theory and Computation of the Department of Astronomy at the University of Maryland, and the National Science Foundation.

IPST LogoBurgers Logo CTC Logo

Back to Top